Coconut Crusted Chicken Deliciousness

I promised a coconut chicken recipe today… so here it is. This, my friends, is the pinnacle of deliciousness. I think it’s important to note that I’ve never considered myself someone who really likes coconut…. Whenever I go visit family in Venezuela and everyone stops to get a fresh coconut off some guy with a machete on the side of the road, I’m the only one who doesn’t participate… not a fan of the viscosity, I think. ANYWAY, coconut flakes?? ah-mazing. I urge you to make these immediately:

Coconut Crusted Chicken Deliciousness

What you need…

  • Chicken Breasts cut into tender/nugget sized pieces (I usually use a pack of 3, which feeds Matt, Mom and me)
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut flakes (Always get mine at Whole Foods)
  • 2 eggs
  • Coconut oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

coconut chix prep

What you’re doing with it…

  1. Preheat a pan on medium heat with coconut oil in it (ideally, you want a puddle of oil.. even if the pan is uneven and the puddle is only on one side; just use that side… yes, one – or two – of our burners might be slightly lopsided..)
  2. Preheat the oven to 350
  3. Spray a pyrex baking dish with coconut oil and set it aside
  4. Season the tenders with salt and pepper
  5. Crack the 2 eggs in a bowl (or start with 1 and crack the other if you find you need it)
  6. Fill another bowl with the shredded coconut
  7. Dip the tenders one by one in egg, then in the coconut, and put in the pan. Your fingers should look like this…. eggy fingers
  8. I do 4-5 tenders at a time in the pan so I can give them the attention they deserve. Once the oil is hot, 45 seconds – 1 minute per side should suffice to get the coconut browned, but the chicken will still be raw inside.
  9. Once the tenders are perfectly browned on both sides, place them in the pre-sprayed Pyrex coconut chix in baking dish
  10. Once the Pyrex is full (you maaay have to layer a few… nbd) stick it in the oven, uncovered, for 7-10 minutes
  11. Cut the thickest one open to make sure it’s not raw.. it should be perrrrfectly moist
  12. EAT!

coconut chix meal w veggie stew

We ate these with lemon-lime coconut cauliflower rice (#sogood), stewed veggies in tomato basil rosemary sauce with a hiiiint of cinnamon (crockpot) (#alsosooogood!) and Tessemae’s sauces on the side. Matty’s BBQ sauce is epically good with the coconut chicken tender deliciousness.

Now, go make them and let me know what you think!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Coconut Crusted Chicken Deliciousness

Leave a comment